Genius Hour 2nd project reflection

Awesome Graffiti from Around the Globe. “Awesome Graffiti from Around the Globe Pt.2 [18 Pics].” I Like To Waste My Time. Iliketowastemytime, n.d. Web. 08 Feb. 2016. <http://iliketowastemytime.com/2013/12/26/awesome-graffiti-from-around-globe-pt2-18-pics>.

My second Genius Hour topic was about Graffiti, which was the form of Art that ever existed in the world. I choose this topic because I like art, and mainly because of the creativity that can be made out of this Art. I also saw a lot of Graffiti here at Dakar, and I wanted to know more about their meaning. I had some basic knowledge about Graffiti before choose this project. However, as I progressed, I gained more profound knowledge about Graffiti such as the meaning behind pieces of Art and the messages they were trying to convey to a certain community. As I looked at many Graffiti on the internet but also here at Dakar, I realized that Graffiti trace a chronological evolution of our world. For every memorable event that happen in the world, there is always a graffiti that illustrate that event so that everyone will remember that event. My first Genius Hour project was about “Teaching Current events with Blogs”  and compared to my new project, I can say that I remarkably progressed. I still remember that for my last project, I didn’t really know much about that topic and I used used many outside resources to shape my presentation. I use more outside ideas than my owns which made it difficult for me during my presentation, while for this second topic, I had some background knowledge as a graffiti artist myself, and I did some analysis, and used less outside sources. I used to only care about drawing graffiti without really thinking about what it really meant to me and for the people close to me.

Wesley, Charles. “BINcA Writes!” BINcA Writes. Bincawrites11.wordpress, 15 Mar. 2014. Web. 08 Feb. 2016. <https://bincawrites11.wordpress.com/category/street-art-class-projects/>.

However, when I learned about graffiti importance, I take more consideration about what my graffiti mean and now do useful graffiti. I learned more graffiti, now I can consider myself as one of these artists whose mission is to help people remember how the world is evolving over years through images. Even though I don’t have a fix Idea about my next Genius Hour project, but I know that this new project will focus more about how to make our world a better place for my community and to promote a bright future for all including humans animals and nature.

The URL To my presentation here.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *